Views: 799 Posts: 0 Started By: Lil_prince Last Poster: Lil_prince Last Post Date: Aug 23, 2016
August 23, 2016 ( Post 1 )

The Oyo State Government has approved the creation of 35 Local Council Development Areas from the existing 33 council areas in the state.

Mr. Gbade Ojo, the Chief of Staff to Governor Abiola Ajimobi, told journalists in Ibadan on Tuesday that the move was in accordance with the advice of the state House of Assembly, which argued that for effective grassroots development, creation of the LCDAs was vital.

During the briefing, the Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy, Mr. Bimbo Kolade, said the newly created LCDAs are financially capable; while the state Commissioner for Information, Culture and Tourism, Mr. Toye Arulogun, commended the citizens for their support and compliance in the renewed Internal Generated Revenue drive by the state government.

Under the new council arrangement, Ibadan zone will get 14 councils, while Ibarapa zone will get two more councils. Four councils will be added to Oyo zone, Ogbomoso zone will get seven and Oke-Ogun area will get eight.

Presently, Oyo State has 33 council areas, but with the new move, the state will be divided into 68 council areas, with 35 new councils having LCDA status.

Share it Let Friends Know

Make A Reply Below!

Desired Name:


You Can Now Beautify Your Posts With
BBcodes || Smileys